Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

959 Resoration Advice 5 years 6 months ago #52092

As some of you may recall from the "mailman" topic, I have recently acquired a vintage 58059 Porsche 959. I have no experience doing restorations so I thought I'd ask some questions of the professionals here.

The chassis is in good working order but a couple of parts are cracked and have been repaired including a lower front arm and a rear shock support. I was able to find a (very expensive) C parts tree which contains new versions of both cracked parts so I'll be replacing them. The original MSC and Technigold motor work great, as does the Futaba BEC receiver and original Attack radio. I'll be tearing the whole thing down to the bones, cleaning, and rebuilding from scratch.

I have an original body shell but it is in tough shape with a few cracks and holes. It will go into storage and get replaced. I don't have the driver figures. My plan is to go with a TBG repro shell, but I'm not sure what to do about the drivers and wing. TBG has a Lexan wing. Is it any good? How bad does it look compared to the stock molded wing? TBG also has Lexan drivers but they have no heads. Is there an aftermarket source for heads or something close? How about the light buckets? The H parts and K parts appear to be unobtainable. From what I can tell, getting an original shell with drivers is in the $400 range and even then a brand new blow molded shell could have holes in it or be to too fragile to use. I plan to actually run this model (very carefully).

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by blakbird.

959 Resoration Advice 5 years 6 months ago #52093

The best is find original spares but for the body, tbg is a good choice. I don't know about the wing. The original is abs like heads and upper lights. For the heads I don't remind me but you can buy grasshopper pilot heads. Light buckets good luck. Goldfish found lots of spares.

959 Resoration Advice 5 years 6 months ago #52096