Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

New to the board with my newly acquired Hotshots... 5 years 9 months ago #50785

Hey there, Dan from Seattle here. Today I became the proud owner of two lovely little Hotshots. I'm fairly new to RC. I drooled over the Tamiyas and Team Associated buggies that friends had as a kid, but my folks couldn't afford to drop the $$$ to get me one. In all fairness, I didn't even realize they were kits at the time, and wasn't really the type of kid who would've seen one through to completion (I did trade a stack of comic books to a buddy for a Frog with a non-functional steering servo, and quickly traded it away out of frustration!).

I fell into RC by way of a yard sale a couple of months ago, coming up on two Traxxas Stampede 2wd trucks for a reasonable price. After pretty much going through them both completely, and getting them back on the road, I quickly found myself on the web drooling over the old buggies once again.

Long story short, I picked up this pair of Hotshots off of Craigslist, both complete and "running", and one with an original box 1/2 full of spare new and used parts. I put "" around running because while they both drive, it's tough to say how well since the Futaba controllers/receivers aren't functioning well enough to fully test. Doesn't matter much to me, as I plan to go through them both, and at the very least outfit them with new controllers/receivers, likely new ESCs, and probably ditch the silver cans for something with a slight bump in performance. Controller/receiver comes first so I can at least establish a base line before getting going.

One thing's for sure, these will be runners.

Anyways, just thought I'd introduce myself as I'm sure I will have plenty of questions along the way.

Cheers!
-Dan
Attachments:
The following user(s) Liked this: stingray-63, goldfish999, Al, jord001

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by danrighton.