Keyword

TOPIC:

Hello from a new Tamiya fan 5 years 9 months ago #50840

Hello there! My name is Eric but I've gone by Blakbird on the Internet for as long as there has been an Internet. Here's a brief history of my RC life. Unlike many of you, I didn't really have RC's as a kid. I have 6 siblings and we couldn't afford them. I remember having a "remote control" rather than "radio control" car which means it had a tether cord and only one channel. You could go forward or reverse, and a caster made the car turn right when going backwards. To go left you had to go 270 degrees. It was not impressive, but I was always fascinated by the idea of having a "real" RC.

At various times in my adulthood I dabbled with RC, but looking back now I chose the worst possible places to dabble. My first real RC was a 1/8th scale nitro buggy kit from Thunder Tiger that my wife got me for my birthday. Coolest gift ever, but I had no idea what I was doing. I am an Aeropace Engineer so building it was no problem, but the first shock was figuring out how much support equipment I needed. I needed a glow plug and a warmer and a starter and a battery and charger for the starter and fuel and a fuel bottle and ad naseum. And then I coudln't really get it to run right because the instructions said effectively "if it doesn't run right it is too lean" and then "if it doesn't run right it is too rich". Between my inability to get it to run and my inability to find a place to run it that didn't annoy everyone it didn't last very long. Years later I bought an HPI Savage and had the same problem. It was super cool and fun to build, but I didn't know how to make it run properly so it sat on the shelf. I didn't have any mentors to show me what to do. Later I got a Traxxas E-Revo. Now that was a different animal. Electric was easy and that model was fast and fun. I didn't get the joy of building it though and then I started to have kids and didn't have time.