Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Wild Willy Models 5 years 3 months ago #53658

Hello fellow rc enthusiast

I am new to this and have recently got a few wild willy trucks. However, I am struggling to find some information about models, volumes etc.

I am trying to find out how many versions their are of the wild willy? and how many were there built for each model?

1st SWB Year made:1982 Model Number: 58035?
2nd LWB Year made 1982: Model Number: 5835? - is this the same model number as the SWB? How many where built?
3rd WR 02 Wild Willy 2 Model Number: 58242 Year made: 1999 - Do the latest version i.e 2019 share the same model number?
4th Metallic special 2000 Model Number: 49337 - How many were built?
5th Wild Willy 2 XB ("expert built", i.e. factory finished) Model Number: 55743

I am very new to this so more than likely I've got some of this information wrong. If anyone would be so kind to shed some light on how many were manufactured for each model and what the correct manufacturing year dates were and model numbers please?

Thank you :)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Wild Willy Models 5 years 3 months ago #53659

Welcome on board

Wild Willy Models 5 years 3 months ago #53660

Thank you :)

Wild Willy Models 5 years 3 months ago #53661

Welcome to TamiyaBase!
Here is some reading you can do on the two different Wild Willy original versions:
tamiyabase.com/...body-parts
tamiyabase.com/...s-versions

And here is something about Tamiya model numbers:
tamiyabase.com/...-explained

And finally, have a look in the Model Database and search for "willy" and you will see all the Wild Willy models to date:
tamiyabase.com/tamiya-models
(The database does not cover XB models, yet)

Tamiya has never released any information on production numbers, so we simply don't know.
But, I don't think is a stretch to say that the 58035 SWB is the rarest of them all.

-Lars
PS: let us see some pictures of Wild Willy's !