Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Hello. 4 years 10 months ago #55292

Hello everybody.
This must be a short introduction as I really have only just re discovered my Tamiya Integrale that I bought, built & mostly crashed in the early 1990s.
I bought this from a model shop in the Meadowhall shopping centre in 1992 I think & even now, many years later, remember how much I enjoyed building it. I have driven for a living since 1989 & would call home on the way back to the yard just to assemble another part. I never really had the spare time to ‘rally’ it seriously but whenever & wherever I could I would give it a blast until my one battery gave up and/or I crashed it & couldn’t put it through any further pain as it was so expensive at the time I had to take out a payment plan at the shop to buy it. With the interest, I may have been able to buy an actual car although nothing like an Integrale.
I still drive for a living nearly 30 years later & seem to actually live in a 2019 Volvo FH 13 500bhp Globetrotter XL for most of the time. Is such a thing available in kit form I wonder?? Maybe for another day.
Anyway, due to my interest in rallying in the heyday of GrpB, I have pre-ordered the upcoming re-issue of the Audi Quattro & along with this have bought new tyres, batteries & a shell for my old Integrale. Please bear with me on chassis types etc as I am very rusty.
I can photograph it later today but from memory it has a shaft driven 4wd chassis with main transmission parts in red plastic & a controller much like a variable resistor that would melt your fingerprints off after use.
I remember actually filling the dampers with oil & it all seemed like proper engineering to me at the time. I have the whole kit including period charger & transmitter.
I guess that it will still work even if only with my old Lancia.