Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Backing metallic red paint 5 years 5 months ago #52939

• AJB
  • AJB's Avatar Topic Author
  • Anytime Baby!
  • Anytime Baby!
I'm thinking I perhaps need to get myself a re-re Hotshot, but was thinking of metallic red rather than solid (if that's not sacrilege...)

I've never done metallic polycarbonate paint before though (just the fact that it's spray rather than brush these days was a new one for me when I built my Wild One recently!)

I'm thinking PS-15, but should that then be backed with something else? If so, would silver or white be sensible? And would there be a difference in end result between them? And finally is there a different red I should be considering rather than PS-15?

Sorry for all the questions, and thanks in advance!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Backing metallic red paint 5 years 5 months ago #52943

It's your car, you can do what you like with it ... even more so with a re-release. That said, PS15 is a pretty subtle metallic red, it's not much of a deviation from boxart when you can only see the difference in very good light.

With the exception of the wing, the Hotshot doesn't really have any areas where it's not immediately backed by something dark, unlike say a touring car on a backbone type chassis that has lots of big windows to let light in to cast shadows, so I'm not sure backing is essential here.

Conventional wisdom suggests that if you are going to back it you should use silver (PS12) & that should reinforce both the depth of colour and the sparkles without really changing the colour. I would think white (PS1) might make it tend more towards a pinkish hue. I've used Black (PS5) to back (non metallic) red before & been very happy with it, is does make it a touch darker but adds a bit of class IMO.

More out there backing choices would be Gold, Copper or one of the many darker blues to add a hint of yellow, orange or purple respectively. I don't think I'd go any further than that ;)