Keyword

TOPIC:

Re: Scale boxes 12 years 4 months ago #4106

Very nice painting and detailing!
I wish you could make a step by step guide to painting like this... :blush:

-Lars

I'm a bit of an amateur at this myself, but as it happens, my 2nd batch is progressing quite well ...

... a hasty prime with grey plastic primer & a quick spray (Humbrol light olive) later:

"Dry Brushing" is a bit of a misnomer - the brush shouldn't be entirely dry otherwise no paint will get laid down :whistle:

... a little Metallic Grey on edges that could have got scraped, if this was a real box, and made out of metal ...

... and a bit of Humbrol "rust" ...

A "wash" is simply thinned down paint, brushed on -not only do you get a general layer of "dirt", but surface tension makes the thinned paint form a meniscus at details, so as it dries, more paint gets left there...

This is something like 4 drops of NATO green, 2 of Matt black, and 4ml of water, mixed on the plastic lid of a takeaway tray ...

... slapped on ...

... and dabbed off on the larger flat expanses ...

... after drying ... I felt this wasn't quite enough ...

... so repeated the process with a 1 part matt black, 4 parts water mix, carefully brushed on with a fine brush just where I wanted it ...

... this was a little too dark, so I tamed it selectively with a 4-1 mix of NATO green...

... crates to follow when I've done them :)
The following user(s) Liked this: larbut

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Jonny Retro.

Re: Scale boxes 12 years 4 months ago #4114

Moving on to the crates, first I dy brushed them with a little NATO Brown, varying the amounts on each crate ...

... also dry brushed Medium Grey in the same proportions ...

... a light colour wash with NATO Green (something like 1 part paint to 9 parts water) just wasn't dense enough...

... so I tried a much heavier wash - 2 parts paint to 3 parts water ...

:)
Attachments:

Last edit: by Jonny Retro.