Keyword

TOPIC:

SRB alternative suspension 12 years 8 months ago #3362

Hello

Im new to this website. Ive been collecting tamiya RC's for about 10 years now.

I recently acquired a Ford ranger from a colleague at work. it was in quite bad condition but I have wanted an SRB for a while so I decided that i would rebuild it as a runner sand scorcher. So far I have got a nearly complete rolling chassis made up of original and rere parts. Im using a kamtec radio box and converting to direct steering.

Im at the point where i need to think about suspension. The rear springs are ver hard and the dampers were in very bad condition. I was thinking about replacing the torsion bar set up with 55mm coil over shock units. I have seen some from Ansmann for

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: SRB alternative suspension 12 years 8 months ago #3365

Haven't done it myself, but I can't see why it wouldn't work ... my only worries would be are the springs firm enough (it's a heavy car), 55mm sounds more like a touring car size, so have they got enough travel ... and that in my experience, Ansmann shocks aren't very good - they loose adjustment, and oil. Tamiya shocks will cost three times as much, but are much better quality.

Another alternative is to fit new seals or entire new re-re dampers ... and/or fit them upside down - they work just as well, but gravity will help keep the oil in :)

Welcome on board BTW :)

Re: SRB alternative suspension 12 years 8 months ago #3372

Thanks for the reply. I think they are touring car shocks, the firmness of the springs was also one of my concerns. At the moment i have the chassis built up with the original torsion bar and that seems too firm, although at the moment it has no electronics, battery, wheels or body fitted so its hard to get a real idea of what it would be like in use. There are some RC Channel original style shocks on ebay for about

Re: SRB alternative suspension 12 years 8 months ago #3375