Keyword

TOPIC:

Bush Devil 12 years 7 months ago #3225

Hi

just picked this up very very cheaply from fleabay. After i had bought it i had a little idea of fitting a blitzer beetle body i have lying around thats new. are these the same as the monster beetle shells ie same fixing holes etc?? and i was wondering would it be possible to fit it on this chassis?? any advice would be appreciated i have never worked on a bush devil before.

Regards

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by tamiya nut.

Re: Bush Devil 12 years 7 months ago #3228

Blitzer Beetle & Monster beetle have the mounting holes in the same places, and the Bush devil appears to have the same front shock tower and body mount post as the Monster Beetle, so you're good to go on the front without modifictions ... but the back end is quite different.

The Bush Devil, though it uses the same ORV space frame chassis as the Monster Beetle has a completely different gearbox, suspension & rear shock tower - however, the points at which the body mounts fit on the back end of the ORV frame are only used to secure the gearbox - so with a longer bolt, you probably could fit the E2 & E4 (body mount uprights) and two E8 (body posts) from the Monster Beetle, and get a replacement G1 part (brace) in pressed metal off eBay 0they tend to be very fragile. Check the Monster Beetle manual in the database ;)

The E parts are fairly rare & expensive, but if you did want to fit the body with off the shelf Tamiya parts, I think it's probably possible... although I'm of the mind that with a little ingenuity, you can fit any body to any chassis -I have a Midnight Pumpkin shell on a Wild Dagger, a 1/8 Capri body on a Schumacher 1/10 touring car, and I once put a 1/8 Porsche 911 shell on a Hornet :L

BTW, you _are_ aware that putting a Blizer Beetle shell on a Bush Devil chassis, therefore making the uneducated believe it's a Monster Beetle will require you to refer to this project from now on as a _Bush Monster_.