Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Spektrum 2.4ghz Advice 11 years 1 month ago #20228

Hi all

I have managed to acquire three boats in the space of a week :ohmy:

The first is an old Aerokit Sea Rover which is a wreck requiring a total rebuild

The second is another 30 odd inch Aerokit Crash Tender in good condition but also needing some work until im happy with the finish im not happy with the quality of the paint job

The third is a scratch built cabin cruiser built by the owner of my local hobby store which is mainly finished just requiring the addition of radio gear

I was at my local boating lake today which was packed so i got to thinking im going to have to go down the 2.4ghz route to avoid interference on my boats so i have started looking at Spektrum transmitters as im told they will work with some of the cheaper orange branded receivers you can pick up off ebay for like a tenner.

The problem is i have no knowledge whatsoever in this area so im looking for some good advice on what transmitter to go for. Are there any known floors in them etc?

Any advice ie appreciated im still stuck in the two band 27mhz era :laugh:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Spektrum 2.4ghz Advice 11 years 1 month ago #20230

I don't have any ground Orange Rx's buy I use them in my planes with my Spektrum DX7 and they work very well. The ground ones have mostly good reviews.
Look at the hacked GT3B from overkillrc.com if you think you'll ever want/need more than 3 channels. I love mine and Rx's are usually on sale somewhere for $5-14 each depending on how many channels.

Spektrum 2.4ghz Advice 11 years 1 month ago #20234

excuse my ignorance but why does it need to be hacked? cant i just buy one off ebay they are so cheap

Spektrum 2.4ghz Advice 11 years 1 month ago #20237