Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Mystery Motor 11 years 10 months ago #10021

Took this motor out of an old and very tired thundershot and was curious if anyone knows anything about it? How many turns etc? its a total blank to me and i was wondering if its worth reusing or for scrap? it seems to have four solder points and i wanted to reattach some wires but am unsure which points i should be soldering too? two seem to have wires coming from them. Im a novice when it comes to motors any advice is appreciated.

Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: Mystery Motor 11 years 10 months ago #10023

Without a label or any outside markings it's kind of hard to tell ... you could take the brushes out, prise open the tabs that hold the end can on, remove the rotor & see if it's got anything stamped on it ...

TBH though I'd guess it's a fairly basic 27T "stock" motor - theoretically it'll go faster than a standard silvercan - bearings, stronger magnets, probably a bit of advance on the timing ... put a pinion on it & see what resistance there is to turning the rotor, put some wires on & see if it _sounds_ fast .... or put it in a car & see what happens, keeping a close eye (or finger) on how hot the ESC & the motor itself get.

I can help with the wiring though:

:)
Attachments:

Re: Mystery Motor 11 years 10 months ago #10024

Cheers il wire it up using your diagram tonight. I have turned the motor by hand and it seems to have more resistance than the standard kit tamiya motors i have?

Re: Mystery Motor 11 years 10 months ago #10034

Cheers il wire it up using your diagram tonight. I have turned the motor by hand and it seems to have more resistance than the standard kit tamiya motors i have?

More resistance, unless the bearings have siezed, means stronger magnets - which should mean more torque & therefore "power" and, subject to correct gearing, speed.