Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Tyre clean and perservation - examples 6 years 1 month ago #48745

Hi all,

Something I see/like from good topics is where there are multiple examples of an idea, technique or even a build off the same car. Maybe just me :)

In this fashion I thought I would start a topic on this and using the base of Jonny's article I read recently.

Choosing the right type of oil that will not degrade the rubber was important but something I have very little knowledge about, so I put my trust in Jonny's (what seems) infinite knowledge and found some glycerin oil. It was a lot easier and cheaper than I thought. From the local Boots for just 99p I picked up a reasonable 200ml bottle. A thick clear oil that I now understand is used for sore throats and/or good or skin care HA!.

I plan to post more but on a quick test over night with a small part applied I was impressed. With probably both evaporation and absorption the tyre is most definately looking and feeling better. You can see the dry contrast on this 934 tyre.

I plan to run through quite a few of my tyres so will post further pictures and progress.

Attachments:
The following user(s) Liked this: larbut, grandall400, Al

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Purple_rob.

Tyre clean and perservation - examples 6 years 1 month ago #48751

Nice result Rob.

Tyre clean and perservation - examples 6 years 1 month ago #48764

• Al
  • Impressive Numbers
  • Impressive Numbers
Rob, I’ve been using Jonny’s glycerin idea on all of my restorations. On most it’s definitely made an improvement, I do think it depends on the condition of the rubber to begin with.
But I feel it’s worth doing especially where it’s nigh on impossible to find NIP replacements.

Tyre clean and perservation - examples 6 years 1 month ago #48765

Never my idea in the first place, it's an old trick ... similarly, "infinite knowledge" :silly: